Does age affect your gameplay?

Just in from the Melting Pot, does your age affect your ability to play the game?

My opinion, no.

I’m guessing a little expansion on my response might be called for, firstly a datapoint or three.  I know within the social guild I am not the oldest, I’m pretty sure I know who is but there’s no way I’m saying.  Both of us are definitely on the right hand side of the WoW age demographic, while I can claim my age is 21 that’s only been possible through some cheating by using a different base.  Within the raiding guild I’m pretty sure I’m the oldest, probably by 3-4 years.

My position?  Main tank, ie someone who’s job it is not to stand in the bad, react to things going wrong, grab the nasties going to munch on the clothies and so on.

Peashooter picks up on a very specific case where he things age is the issue, dodging the bad.

I disagree, the largest problem I see with players not getting out of the bad is because they are hyper-focused on something else, be it grid (there was a term within a previous guild for a problem some healers suffered from “gridlock”), keeping an eye on coolddowns / GCD or trying to get that last cast off before moving.  All of which are either issues with playstyle, everyone the meters aren’t everything

The other is situational awareness.

Many players do not seem to have the ability to track multiple things at the same time, or keep an eye out for something new to enter the event.  I’m permanently looking for the “something bad is coming after me” and being ready to pick it up / get out of it / kill it / run away.

Of course this might have something to do with how I am in real life, one of the most regular comments is that I can’t be crept up on.  No secret to it.  Position your chair to ensure that the only route to the desk is within my perphiral vision and don’t hyper focus on the screen.

Age can have an affect, as the human body ages reaction times can slow down, but it doesn’t have to affect game play, there are many other factors which have at least as large, if not a larger effect on playing computer games.

 

This entry was posted in Comment, Warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Does age affect your gameplay?

  1. Alan says:

    I suspect that Peashooter has way too few data points for any valid conclusions. Situational awareness? Yep, something I’ve never had more of than now – I was absolutely lousy at team sports for that reason.

    Certainly, you can get to the age where your reactions are falling off, but I would hope that you have also stopped driving by then, since that’s a situation where reactions may need to be quicker. (You can do a reasonable job of WoW even with a second or worse lag between input and output.)

    (And I’m pretty sure you’re right in your guess as to the oldest in AB, assuming you’ve guessed the same person as me. Though our last guild had someone older still – one of the many, many, Karens, though by dint of having a nickname already, she didn’t end up being dubbed Yet Another Karen, or YAK for short.)

  2. Alan says:

    Death Gnomes – an Ancient Evil?

    Which reminds me, I need to start thinking about celebrating my 21st Birthday. That’s 21 using the number base that the guy in A Beautiful Mind preferred. I’ve less than two years to plan.

    (If I ever get to the point of using the same number base as the Sumerians for this, I’ll be very happy indeed.)

  3. korenmolen says:

    I’m not sure who you think is the oldest in ItP – if social members are included, I suspect M is older than you…

    I’m not sure that age intrinsically has anything to do with situational awareness – but may have something to do with how quickly a skill is learned – which might take longer, the older you are. Or how long it takes for a learned bad habit to disappear, OTOH.

    It is also possible that younger players might have fewer preoccupations when playing – and different reasons – thus helping them focus and concentrate on the matter at hand.

    • Korenwolf says:

      korenmolen :

      I’m not sure who you think is the oldest in ItP – if social members are included, I suspect M is older than you…

      I think we may have to compare notes on that, but it’s unlikely to be different by a vast amount.

      I’m not sure that age intrinsically has anything to do with situational awareness – but may have something to do with how quickly a skill is learned – which might take longer, the older you are. Or how long it takes for a learned bad habit to disappear, OTOH.

      The point I was trying to get across is that the issue isn’t age itself, it’s how you use the skills you may or may not have. As a general rule anyone watching a fraps video of my gameplay is likely to get motion sickness, I’m shifting the camera all over the place to know what the hell is going on, where the problems are, where the likely bad is going to be coming from etc etc. So much more about the skills of the player than anything specific to do with their age.

      It is also possible that younger players might have fewer preoccupations when playing – and different reasons – thus helping them focus and concentrate on the matter at hand.

      Of course the flip side of that is once a player (or more accurately the player’s offspring) hit a certain age they have learnt how to monitor for five different things at once but no longer have to do so, lots of extra internal bandwidth 🙂

Comments are closed.